The Lindau Mediatheque  


Both the meetings and the lectures given by the Nobel Laureates have been carefully documented since they first began in 1951. Up until just a few years ago, audio recordings were taken of almost all lectures and panel discussions; video recordings have been made since 2005.

Watch lectures...

The History of the Meetings


Held for the first time in 1951 the Lindau Meetings established themselves as a unique platform for an intergenerational dialogue between scientists.


64th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

Physiology or Medicine

29 June - 4 July 2014


At the 64th Lindau Meeting 30-40 Nobel Laureates are expected to meet with around 600 young researchers to share their knowledge, establish new contacts and discuss relevant topics such as global health, the challenges to medical care in developing countries or future research approaches to medicine.


The multi-stage selection process has just been finished: Approximately 600 aspiring young researchers representing almost 80 countries will be taking part in the 64th Lindau Meeting. For the first time in the history of the meetings the percentage of female participants is higher than the male`s percentage (52 to 48%). Read more in the press release published on 7 March 2014.



The scientific programme will comprise lectures, discussion sessions, master classes and panel discussions. A preliminary programme of the 64th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting is now available for download.

For a more detailed programme including the designated lecture topics please visit the Lindau Mediatheque.

Participating Nobel Laureates 


As of  March 2014, 37 Nobel Laureates have already announced their participation. Please find further information on the Laureates' profiles including their CVs in the Lindau Mediatheque or by following the links below.


Peter Agre (CV)
Werner Arber (CV)
Françoise Barré-Sinoussi (CV)
Bruce Beutler (CV)
J. Michael Bishop (CV)
Elizabeth Blackburn (CV)
Aaron Ciechanover (CV)

Steven Chu (CV)
Johann Deisenhofer (CV)

Peter Doherty (CV)

Martin Evans (CV)
Edmond Fischer (CV)
Walter Gilbert (CV)
Harald zur Hausen (CV)
Jules Hoffmann (CV)
Robert Huber (CV)
Sir R. Timothy Hunt (CV)
Brian Kobilka (CV)
Jean-Marie Lehn (CV)

Barry Marshall (CV)

Hartmut Michel (CV)
Ferid Murad (CV)
Erwin Neher (CV)
Richard Roberts (CV)
Bert Sakmann (CV)
Randy Schekman (CV)

Brian Schmidt (CV)
Hamilton Smith (CV)
Oliver Smithies (CV)
Thomas Steitz (CV)

Roger Tsien (CV)
John Walker (CV)

Arieh Warshel (CV)
Torsten Wiesel (CV)
Kurt Wüthrich (CV)
Ada Yonath (CV)
Rolf Martin Zinkernagel (CV)

Accreditation for Journalists


Journalists are kindly invited to apply for accreditation in order to attend the 2014 Lindau Meeting on Physiology or Medicine.


Please register here for accreditation.


With an accreditation, journalists will have access to most of the scientific programme sessions as well as to all social events. The communications team of the organisers will be happy to assist and support accredited journalists by providing background information and processing interview requests.


Participating for the first time in the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting was a fantastic experience. The very nice and fruitful exchanges I had with young scientists from all around the world, their perception of research careers, motivations and expectations truly enriched my own vision on the actual evolution of science in the context of a globalized world.
Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine (2008)