Posted on 19 October 2021 by LiNo News

Two New Members Elected to the Council

Countess Bettina Bernadotte and Jürgen Kluge (left) welcomed the new Council members.

On Saturday, 16 October 2021, Valeria Nicolosi and Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede were elected as members of the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings.

Valeria Nicolosi is professor of nanomaterials and advanced microscopy at Trinity College Dublin. As a 2004 Lindau Alumna, she experienced Lindau as young scientist: “I have the Lindau Meetings at heart. It was one of the first meetings I attended as a student myself. It has inspired me in my career ever since.”

Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede is professor for chemical biology at Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg. As a co-opted member of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry 2021, she was part of the panel that announced the new Laureates for Chemistry two weeks ago. She is looking forward to this new task: “Although I have never been to Lindau so far, I have heard a lot about it. The people who have attended are all so excited. I think it really makes a difference.”

Countess Bettina Bernadotte and Jürgen Kluge as President of the Council respectively Foundation Board Chairman welcomed the new members and thanked them for their time and commitment in the years to come.

Along with the new staffing, council member Heiner Linke will from now on act as Scientific Chairperson for Physics, together with Rainer Blatt, whereas professors Nicolosi and Wittung Stafshede bring in their expertise in the field of Chemistry, also chaired by Wolfgang Lubitz.

The Council belatedly bid farewell to Lars Bergström, who had resigned from the Board after the 70th Lindau Meeting in summer 2021. He was first elected as a member in 2004.