Honorary Senate


Josef Ackermann
Former CEO of Deutsche Bank AG


Suleiman Jasir Al-Herbish
Director-General of the OPEC Fund for International Development


José Manuel Barroso
Former President of the European Commission


Ernesto Bertarelli
Former CEO Serono S.A. and Two-time winner of America’s Cup


Christof Bosch
Member of the Board of Trustees of the Robert Bosch Stiftung


Martin T:son Engstroem
Founder and Managing Director of the Verbier Festival and Academy


William H. Gates III
Co-chair and Trustee of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation


Ulrich Grete
Member of the Board of Trustees of the Ecoscientia Foundation


Roman Herzog (†)
Former Federal President of Germany


Klaus J. Jacobs (†)
Founder of the Jacobs Foundation


Henning Kagermann
President of the acatech – National Academy of Science and Engineering


Walter B. Kielholz
Chairman of the supervisory board and former CEO of Swiss Re


Klaus Kleinfeld
Former Chairman & CEO, Siemens AG, Germany and Alcoa Inc./Arconic Inc., United States


Malcolm D. Knight
Former Vice Chairman of Deutsche Bank AG


Pamela Mars
Member of the Board of Directors of Mars, Inc.


Angela Merkel
Federal Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany


Joachim Milberg
Former CEO of BMW AG / Former President of acatech – National Academy of Science and Engineering


Ferdinand K. Piëch
Former Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Volkswagen AG


Johannes Rau (†)
Former Federal President of Germany


Annette Schavan
Former Germany´s Federal Minister of Education and Research


Thomas Schmidheiny
Member of the Board of Directors of LafargeHolcim Ltd


Shri Kapil Sibal
Indian Minister for Law and Justice


HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn
Member of the Thai Royal Family


Gunnar Stålsett
Bishop emeritus of Oslo and member of the Norwegian Nobel Committee


Edmund Stoiber
Former Minister-President of Bavaria


Marcus Storch
Former Chairman of the Nobel Foundation


Tony Tan
President of the Republic of Singapore


Erwin Teufel
Former Minister-President of Baden-Wuerttemberg


Klaus Tschira (†)
Co-founder of software company SAP AG and Founder and Executive Director of the Klaus Tschira Foundation


Daniel Vasella
Former CEO of Novartis AG


Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker
Secretary General of the Human Frontier Science Program


Martin Winterkorn
Chairman of the Board of Management of Volkswagen AG


Hansjörg Wyss
Swiss entrepreneur and philantropist