Torsten Persson

 

Prof. Dr. Torsten Persson

 

Mitglied des Kuratoriums

 

 

Torsten Persson ist Professor für Wirtschaftswissenschaften und ehemaliger Direktor am Institute for International Economic Studies (IIES) an der Universität Stockholm. Er ist außerdem Centennial Professor der London School of Economics und besetzte Gastpositionen an führenden Universitäten, einschließlich Harvard, Princeton und Berkeley. Persson ist assoziiertes Forschungsmitglied von CEPR und NBER und Co-Direktor von CIFAR’s Programm „Institutions, Organizations and Growth“. Er ist Mitglied von fünf Akademien, einschließlich der Royal Swedish Academy of Science, der British Academy, und der American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Persson wurde 2008 zum Präsidenten der ökonometrischen Gesellschaft gewählt und 2003 zum Präsidenten der European Economic Association. Zu seinen wissenschaftlichen Auszeichnungen zählen die 1997 Yrjö Jahnsson Medal, die halbjährig an den “besten Ökonom in Europa” verliehen wird, und Ehrendoktorgrade der Aalto University und der Universität Mannheim.

Perssons wissenschaftliches Werk erstreckt sich über diverse Themenfelder der Ökonomie; er ist vor allem für seine zahlreichen Artikel und Bücher über politische Ökonomie, wie beispielsweise „Political Economics“ (mit G.Tabellini), „The Economic Effects of Constitutions“ (mit G. Tabellini), und „Pillars of Prosperity: The Political Economics of Development Clusters“ (mit T. Besley), bekannt. In seiner aktuellen Forschung legt er den Schwerpunkt auf ökonomische Entwicklungsprozesse, politische Gewalt und politische Repräsentation, auf individuelles versus soziales Verhalten sowie auf den Klimawandel.

Bezüglich der Nobelgemeinschaft hat Persson in mehreren Funktionen des Preiskomitees an der Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences für den Preis der Schwedischen Reichsbank für Wirtschaftswissenschaften in Gedenken an Alfred Nobel gedient. Von 1993 bis 2001 war er Sekretär des Komitees, von 1995 bis 2004 sowie von 2011 bis 2013 Mitglied und von 2002 bis 2004 Vorsitzender. 2014 wurde er zum Sekretär wiederernannt.

Torsten Persson

 

Prof. Dr. Torsten Persson

 

Council Member

 

 

Torsten Persson is Professor of economics, and a former Director at the IIES of Stockholm University. He is also a Centennial Professor at the London School of Economics, and has held visiting positions at leading universities as Harvard, Princeton and Berkeley.  Persson is a Research Associate of the CEPR and the NBER and a Co-Director of CIFAR’s program of Institutions, Organizations and Growth. He is a member of five Academies, including the Royal Swedish Academy of Science, the British Academy, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Persson was elected President of the Econometric Society (in 2008), and President of the European Economic Association (in 2003). His scientific distinctions include the 1997 Yrjö Jahnsson Medal, given biannually to “the best young economist in Europe”, and Honorary Doctorates at Aalto University and the University of Mannheim.

Persson’s scientific work has spanned different areas of economics, but he is most well-known for his many articles and books on political economics, including Political Economics (with G.Tabellini), The Economic Effects of Constitutions (with G. Tabellini), and Pillars of Prosperity: The Political economics of Development Clusters (with T. Besley). His current research focuses on development, political violence, the politics of representation, individual vs. social motives of behavior, and climate change.

With regard to the Nobel community, Persson has served in several capacities on the Prize Committee at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences’ for the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in memory of Alfred Nobel. Thus he was Secretary of the Committee in 1993-2001, Member in 1995-2004 and 2011-2013, Chairman in 2002-2004, and was reappointed as Secretary in 2014.