Sten Orrenius_Website

 

Sten Orrenius, M.D., Ph.D.

 

Korrespondierendes Mitglied des Kuratoriums

 

 

Sten Orrenius absolvierte 1965 seinen Ph.D. und 1967 seinen M.D. am Karolinska Institut in Stockholm. Seit 1967 hatte er verschiedene Positionen am Karolisnka Institut. Von 1971 bis 1984 war er Professor für forensische Medizin und ab 1984 Professor für Toxikologie bis er 2004 emeritierte. Er war von 1980 bis 1987 auch Dekan der Medical School des Karolinska Instituts.

Dr. Orrenius ist Ehrenmitglied der American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, der American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, sowie der US-amerikanischen, der italienischen und der schwedischen Gesellschaften für Toxikologie. Er ist außerdem Mitglied der Königlich Schwedischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, der Academia Europeae und auswärtiges Mitglied der Academy of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences in den USA. Dr. Orrenius erhielt einen Ehrendoktortitel von den Universitäten Stockholm, Turin, Konstanz, Buenos Aires, Paris V und Mailand.

Dr. Orrenius’ Forschung ist auf Zellbiologie und molekulare Toxikologie fokussiert. Zuletzt konzentrierte er sich vor allem auf die Mechanismen der Apoptose und andere Zelltodmechanismen, sowie auf die daraus resultierenden Auswirkungen auf Humanerkrankungen. Er erhielt 1997 den Merit Award von EUROTOX (The Federation of European Toxicologists and Societies of Toxicology) und 2006 den Distinguished Lifetime Toxicology Scholar Award der Society of Toxicology (USA). Im Jahr 2003 erhielt Dr. Orrenius den ersten ECDO Career Award for Excellence in Cell Death Research der European Cell Death Organization.

Sten Orrenius_Website

 

Sten Orrenius, M.D., Ph.D.

 

Corresponding Council Member

 

 

Sten Orrenius received his Ph.D. from Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm, Sweden, in 1965 and his M.D. from the same institute in 1967. He has been on the staff of Karolinska Institutet in various positions since 1967. He was Professor of Forensic Medicine from 1971 – 1984 and Professor of Toxicology from 1984 – 2004, when he became Professor Emeritus. He was also Dean of the Karolinska Institutet Medical School 1980 – 1987.

Dr. Orrenius holds honorary memberships in the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, the Society of Toxicology (USA), as well as the Italian and Swedish Societies of Toxicology. He is also a Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and Academia Europeae as well as a Foreign Associate Member of the Academy of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, USA. Dr. Orrenius has received honorary doctorates from the Universities of Stockholm, Turin, Konstanz, Buenos Aires, Paris V and Milan.

Sten Orrenius´ research has focussed on Cell Biology and Molecular Toxicology, most recently on mechanisms of apoptosis and other modes of cell death and the implications thereof for human disease. He was presented the Merit Award by EUROTOX, the Association of European Toxicologists and Societies of Toxicology, in 1997 and was the recipient of the 2006 Distinguished Lifetime Toxicology Scholar Award by the Society of Toxicology (USA). In 2003, Dr. Orrenius received the first ECDO Career Award for Excellence in Cell Death Research by the European Cell Death Organization.