Vienna. Prof. Dr. Helga Nowotny, Vienna Science and Technology Fund (WWTF), President of the European Research Council (ERC).

Helga Nowotny is Professor emerita of Social Studies of Science, ETH Zurich, and a founding member of the European Research Council. In 2007 she was elected ERC Vice-President and from March 2010 until December 2013 President of the ERC. Recently, she has been appointed Chair of the ERA Council Forum Austria. Since 2014 she is member of the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings, in 2015 she took over the position of vice-president.


She holds a Ph.D. in Sociology from Columbia University, NY. and a doctorate in jurisprudence from the University of Vienna. She has held teaching and research positions at the Institute for Advanced Study, Vienna; King’s College, Cambridge; University of Bielefeld; Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin; Ecole des Hautes Etudes an Sciences Sociales, Paris; Science Center for Social Sciences, Berlin; Collegium Budapest; Budapest. Before joining ETH Zurich, Professor Nowotny was Professor for Social Studies of Science at the University of Vienna. Among other, Helga Nowotny is Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and continues to serve on many international advisory boards throughout Europe. Helga Nowotny has published widely in social studies of science and technology and on social time.

Awards and Honours include:
– Großes Silbernes Ehrenzeichen für Verdienste um die Republik Österreich
– Österreichisches Ehrenkreuz für Wissenschaft und Kunst I. Klasse
– Preis der Stadt Wien für Geisteswissenschaften
– Ph.D. Honoris Causa, Weizmann Institute of Science
– Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Lancaster
– Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Leuven
– Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Twente
– Dorothea-Schölzer-Medaille, University of Göttingen
– Distinguished Affiliated Professor, Technische Universität München
– Member of ACATECH
– Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
– Foreign Member, The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
– Foreign Member, Accademia Nazionale Dei Lincei
– Foreign Member, dell’Accademia delle Scienze di Torino
– Foreign Member, Royal Society of Science at Uppsala
– Member, Academia Europaea
– John Desmond Bernal Prize for Distinguished Contribution to the Field, Society for the Study of Science (for life time achievements)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *