The History of the Lindau Meetings


Held for the first time in 1951 the Lindau Meetings established themselves as a unique platform for the dialogue between different scientific generations. For more than 60 years now Laureates as well as young and promising Young Researchers are meeting once a year in Lindau. Read more...

Annual Reports


Every year the Council and the Foundation publish an Annual Report which provides an in-depth overview of all activities. Read more...

Prof. Dr. Rainer Blatt

Corresponding Member

Rainer Blatt graduated in physics from the University of Mainz in 1979. He finished his doctorate in 1981 and worked as research assistant in the team of Günter Werth. In 1982 Blatt received a research grant of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) to go to the Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics (JILA), Boulder, and work with John L. Hall (Nobel Prize winner 2005) for a year. In 1983 he went on to the Freie Universität Berlin, and in the following year joined the working group of Peter E. Toschek at the University of Hamburg. After another stay in the US,

Rainer Blatt applied to qualify as a professor by receiving the “venia docendi” in experimental physics in 1988. In the period from 1989 until 1994 he worked as a Heisenberg research fellow at the University of Hamburg and returned several times to JILA in Boulder. In 1994 he was appointed professor of physics at the University of Göttingen and in the following year he was offered a chair in experimental physics at the University of Innsbruck. Since 2003 Blatt has also held the position of Scientific Director at the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information (IQOQI) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW). Rainer Blatt is married, with three children. 


Experimental physicist Rainer Blatt has carried out trail-blazing experiments in the fields of precision spectroscopy, quantum metrology and quantum information processing. He works with atoms caught in ion traps which he manipulates using laser beams. This work is based on suggestions made in the mid-1990s by theorists Ignacio Cirac and Peter Zoller. In 2004, using their suggested set-up, Blatt’s working group succeeded
for the first time in transferring the quantum information of one atom in a totally controlled manner onto another atom (teleportation). The science journal Nature reported the experiment and gave it pride of place on the cover. Two years later, Rainer Blatt’s working group already managed to entangle up to eight atoms in a controlled manner. Creating such a first “quantum byte” (qubyte) was a further step on the way towards a quantum computer. 2011 the team managed to push this record to 14 entangled atoms. Furthermore Rainer Blatt took important steps towards successful quantum error correction and the building of quantum simulators.
He is also known for his support of young scientists. Six of his former assistants have since been appointed professorships at universities abroad.


Rainer Blatt has received numerous awards for his achievements in the fields of quantum optics and meterology. In 2012 the German Physical Society awarded him the “Stern-Gerlach-Medaille“, in 2011 he was awarded the Science Award for Outstanding Achievements of the Stiftung Südtiroler Sparkasse. Together with Ignacio Cirac he won the Carl Zeiss Research Award (2009). In 2008 he received an „ERC Advanced Grant“ by the European Research Council and the Kardinal Innitzer Award. In 2007 Rainer Blatt and his European project partners were nominated by the European Commission for the Descartes Prize. In 2006 he received the Schrödinger Prize of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. In 1997 he won the Innovations Award of the Tiroler Sparkasse for new ideas on quantum information processing. Since 2008 Rainer Blatt is full member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. 

The 61st Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting of the Nobel Prize Laureates in Lindau was a unique experience for all the participants. It has been a superb forum for exchanges between students and the Nobel Laureates.
Harald zur Hausen, Physiology or Medicine Laureate 2008