SD 11284-Schmidt_0020_webSW

 

Prof. Dr. Klaus M. Schmidt

 

Korrespondierendes Mitglied des Kuratoriums

 

 

Klaus M. Schmidt (geboren 1961) ist seit 1995 ordentlicher Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Er studierte Wirtschaft an der London School of Economics und an der Universität Bonn, wo er 1991 seine Doktorarbeit und 1995 eine Habilitation absolvierte. Als Gastprofessor war er an der University of California at Berkley, Harvard, Yale, Stanford und dem Massachussetts Institute of Technology tätig.

Seine Hauptforschungsbereiche sind Spieltheorie und Vertragstheorie, Verhaltensökonomie, experimentelle Wirtschaftsforschung, Industrieökonomie und politische Ökonomie. In den letzten Jahren konzentrierte sich seine Forschung auf die Modellierung und die experimentelle Analyse von Verhaltensmustern und ihre Auswirkungen auf strategische Interaktionen und die optimale Gestaltung von Prämiensystemen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in erstklassigen internationalen Fachzeitschriften, wie dem American Economic Review, dem Econometrica, dem Quaterly Journal of Economics und dem Review of Economic Studies, veröffentlicht.

Klaus Schmidt erhielt den Gossen-Preis des Vereins für Socialpolitik und den Preis der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften gestiftet von der Commerzbank-Stiftung. Er ist/war Co-Editor oder Associate Editor der Fachmagazine Journal of European Economic Association, RAND Journal, European Economic Review und Review of Economic Studies. Er ist Mitglied der Ökonometrischen Gesellschaft, der Europäischen Ökonomischen Vereinigung, der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, dem CESifo und dem CEPR Forschungsnetzwerk.

SD 11284-Schmidt_0020_webSW

 

Prof. Dr. Klaus M. Schmidt

 

Corresponding Council Member

 

 

Klaus M. Schmidt (b. 1961) is full professor of economics at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich since 1995. He did his graduate studies in economics at the London School of Economics and the University of Bonn where he received his PhD in 1991 and his Habilitation (post-doctoral degree) in 1995. He was a visiting professor at the University of California at Berkeley, at Harvard, Yale, Stanford, and the Massachussetts Institute of Technology.

His main fields of research are game theory and contract theory, behavioral and experimental economics, industrial organization and political economy. In recent years the focus of his research has been on the modelling and the experimental analysis of behavioural biases and their effects on strategic interaction and the optimal design of incentive schemes. His work has been published in top international journals, including the American Economic Review, Econometrica, the Quarterly Journal of Economics and the Review of Economic Studies.

Klaus Schmidt received the Gossen Price of the German Economic Association and the Research Price of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences. He is (or has been) co-editor or associate editor of the Journal of European Economic Association, the RAND Journal, the European Economic Review and the Review of Economic Studies. He is a fellow of the Econometric Society and the European Economic Association, a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences, and a fellow of the CESifo and CEPR research networks.