The Lindau Mediatheque  


Both the meetings and the lectures given by the Nobel Laureates have been carefully documented since they first began in 1951. Up until just a few years ago, audio recordings were taken of almost all lectures and panel discussions; video recordings have been made since 2005.

Watch lectures...

The History of the Meetings


Held for the first time in 1951 the Lindau Meetings established themselves as a unique platform for an intergenerational dialogue between scientists.


64th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

Physiology or Medicine

29 June - 4 July 2014


The Lindau week of scientific dialogue ended. Please find the lectures of the 64th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in our Mediatheque, latest pictures on FlickR, and blogposts around the meeting in our blog.


37 Nobel Laureates met with around 600 young scientists to share their knowledge, establish new contacts and discuss relevant topics such as global health, the latest findings in cancer or Aids research, the challenges in immunology or future research approaches to medicine.


The young scientists representing almost 80 countries had passed a multi-stage selection process. For the first time in the history of the meetings the percentage of female participants was higher than the male`s percentage (52 to 48%).



You can download the complete programme of the 64th Lindau Meeting. Read more about the lectures by 37 Nobel Laureates and the numerous scientific and social events on the brink of this fruitful week of exchange.


Participating Nobel Laureates 


At the 64th Lindau Meeting, 37 Nobel Laureates participated in this week of scientific exchange. Please find further information on the Laureates' profiles including their CVs in the Lindau Mediatheque.


Peter Agre
Werner Arber
Françoise Barré-Sinoussi
Bruce Beutler
J. Michael Bishop
Elizabeth Blackburn

Aaron Ciechanover

Martin Chalfie

Steven Chu

Johann Deisenhofer 

Martin Evans
Edmond Fischer
Walter Gilbert
Harald zur Hausen
Jules Hoffmann
Robert Huber
Sir R. Timothy Hunt
Brian Kobilka

Walter Kohn 

Jean-Marie Lehn 

Barry Marshall 

Hartmut Michel
Ferid Murad
Erwin Neher
Bert Sakmann
Randy Schekman

Brian Schmidt
Hamilton Smith
Oliver Smithies
Thomas Steitz

Roger Tsien
John Walker

Arieh Warshel
Torsten Wiesel
Kurt Wüthrich
Ada Yonath
Rolf Martin Zinkernagel

From modest beginnings, we see the Lindau dialogues of today. A truly global event here in Germany in Europe. A contribution by Europe to global understanding, to educate, connect and inspire.
José Manuel Durão Barroso, President of the European Commission